About QueerExchange

Who or what is Queer Swap?

QueerTausch is a group of volunteers and full-time employees at AFS Interkulturelle Treffen eV, which deals with topics related to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in student exchanges and in international volunteer service programs.

QueerTausch sees itself as a mouthpiece, wants to be present, make alternative family and life forms visible, encourage an open approach to the topic and work to ensure that queer becomes a matter of course - also internationally!

Why is there queer swap?

Homosexual host children or host parents, homosexual, bisexual and transident people among the volunteers or in the office - all of this is already part of the German diversity of life! Unfortunately, tolerant and respectful interaction on many levels - also internationally - is not yet a matter of course.

How does this work?

QueerTausch gets involved, clarifies with the help of workshops and information stands and raises awareness of different perspectives so that fear of contact and uncertainties in dealing with one another can be reduced. Sometimes there are aha moments and one or the other time pennies or even stones fall from the heart!
We at QueerTausch are approachable! We answer questions, find regional contact persons if necessary, help with difficulties in mutual understanding and feel responsible when people reach their limits because something is presented as 'queer'.

Über QueerTausch

Wer oder was ist QueerTausch?

QueerTausch ist eine Gruppe von Ehren- und Hauptamtlichen bei AFS, die sich für geschlechtliche und sexuelle Vielfalt im Schüler*innenaustausch und in internationalen Freiwilligendiensten einsetzt.

QueerTausch versteht sich dabei als Sprachrohr, möchte präsent sein, Sichtbarkeit für queere Menschens schaffen und daran arbeiten, dass Queeres selbstverständlich wird – auch international!

Warum gibt es QueerTausch?

Queere, also lesbische, schwule, bi- und pansexuelle sowie trans*, inter* und nicht-binäre Menschen sind Teil der deutschen und internationalen Lebensvielfalt und müssen mit ihrer Identität und ihren Bedürfnissen respektiert und berücksichtigt werden. Leider ist der tolerante und respektvolle Umgang auf vielen Ebenen – auch international – noch keine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Wie funktioniert das?

QueerTausch bringt sich ein, klärt mithilfe von Workshops und Infoständen auf und sensibilisiert für sexuelle und geschlechtliche Vielfalt, damit Berührungsängste und Unsicherheiten im Umgang miteinander abgebaut werden. Manchmal gibt’s dabei Aha-Erlebnisse und das eine oder andere Mal fallen dabei Groschen oder sogar Steine von Herzen!

Wir von QueerTausch sind ansprechbar! Wir beantworten Fragen, finden bei Bedarf regionale Ansprechpersonen, helfen bei Schwierigkeiten des gegenseitigen Verständnisses und fühlen uns zuständig, wenn Menschen an Grenzen geraten, weil sich etwas als „queer“ darstellt.