What Happened So Far

On this page, you can see what we've done and achieved since our founding in 2010, based on milestones and articles that we or others have written about our work.

Above all, we did lots of public relations work within AFS Germany , on the one hand to get the necessary support for the work of QueerExchange and on the other hand, because we see it as one of our core tasks to create queer role models, to do queer storytelling and to create visibility in all areas of society, including volunteer work.

Titel Queergestreift

In May 2022, the book Queergestreift by Kathrin Köller and Irmela Schautz is published, for which they interviewed Bene from QueerExchange in detail about our work. The beautifully designed book covers people, stories, terminology and organizations from all parts of the LGBTQIA+ spectrum and is suitable for both people with little and a lot of prior knowledge. More information and a reading excerpt are available here on our website .

In 2021, after a period marked by the beginning of the corona pandemic and great concern about the future of the AFS programs, we are celebrating the 10th anniversary of QueerExchange and to mark the occasion we are publishing a lavish anniversary brochure with greetings, statistics, presentation of our milestones and praise from all corners of the AFS world and beyond.

In February 2020 QueerExchange wins the video contest Love Is Love of the Alliance against Homophobia and receives 1,000 euros to promote acceptance and diversity of queer people in society.

StartSocial - Hilfe für Helfer

At the end of 2018, QueerExchange receives a grant from Start Social, with the help of which we can extensively evaluate and systematize our work processes and activities in the following months. The final report gives us suggestions for action and other helpful tips for future work.

In January 2018, QueerExchange launches the social media campaign #youresafewithme. The aim is to make the network of contacts for queer people within the global AFS organizations public and visible. People in Germany, Brazil, Iceland, the USA, Italy, Austria and many other AFS countries are taking part. Photos can be found on Instagram and Facebook .

In Voluntaris - Magazine for voluntary services and civil society commitment the article "Because even loving is learned: The AFS QueerSwap Initiative" by QueerSwap members Tino and Bene is published. Voluntaris is a scientifically oriented information, discussion and documentation journal for the field of voluntary services. You can read the article here.

In the annual report of the international AFS Network , QueerExchange is recognized for its efforts to make AFS programs accessible to diverse groups.

In 2018, QueerExchange takes stock: In HORIZONTE , QueerExchange members Bene and Shuggi report on the milestones that QueerTausch has reached within AFS Germany, but also how QueerExchange has expanded its work beyond the borders of Germany and its own organization.

In 2013, QueerExchange member Andrea takes a trip into the past while on family vacation. She talks to Justus Eisfeld in New York about queer people at AFS. Justus was a volunteer at AFS in the 1990s. Today he is a trans* activist, works at Hivos in New York and co-founded GATE - Global Action for Trans Equality.

In 2013, an article about QueerExchange appears for the first time in the newsletter on intercultural education from AFS Intercultural Programs, the worldwide network of all AFS organizations. This was important for QueerExchange to also raise international awareness.

In 2012, the main topic in HORIZONTE was the German hosting program. Young people from all over the world have been coming to Germany and spending their time here with host families for over 60 years. The family structure in Germany has changed a lot during this time. Andrea and Shuggi have been enthusiastic host parents several times since 2007 and talk about their experiences.

At its delegates' meeting in 2011, our association AFS Germany decides to add sexual identity to the German version of the AFS Policy Statement .

In 2010, the first article about QueerExchange was published in AFS Germany's magazine HORIZONTE . The article explains who we are and what we do.

Was bisher geschah

Hier könnt Ihr anhand von Meilensteinen und Artikeln, die wir oder andere über unsere Arbeit geschrieben haben, nachvollziehen, was seit unserer Gründung 2010 gemacht und erreicht haben.

Wir haben vor allem viel Öffentlichkeitsarbeit in unserer Trägerorganisation AFS Interkulturelle Begegnungen e.V. gemacht, einerseits, damit die Arbeit von QueerTausch den nötigen Rückhalt hat, und andererseits, weil wir es als eine unserer Kernaufgaben ansehen, queere Vorbilder zu schaffen, queeres Storytelling zu betreiben und Sichtbarkeit in allen Bereichen der Gesellschaft, auch bei ehrenamtlichem Engagement, herzustellen.

Titel Queergestreift

Im Mai 2022 erscheint das Buch Queergestreift von Kathrin Köller und Irmela Schautz, für das sie Bene von QueerTausch ausführlich über unsere Arbeit interviewt haben. Das wunderschön gestaltete Buch beschäftigt sich mit Menschen, Geschichten, Begriffen und Organisationen aus allen Teilen des LSBTQIA+-Spektrums und ist sowohl für Menschen mit wenig und viel Vorwissen geeignet. Mehr Informationen und eine Leseprobe sind an anderer Stelle auf unserer Website zu finden.

2021 feiern wir nach einer vom Anfang der Coronapandemie und der großen Sorge um die Zukunft der AFS-Programme geprägten Zeit das 10-jährige Jubiläum von QueerTausch nach und veröffentlichen zu diesem Anlass eine aufwendige Jubiläumsbroschüre mit Grußworten, Statistiken, Darstellung unserer Meilensteine und Lobhudeleien aus allen Ecken der AFS-Welt und darüber hinaus.

Im Februar 2020 gewinnt QueerTausch beim Videowettbewerb Love Is Love des Aktionsbündnisses gegen Homophobie und erhält damit 1.000 Euro zur Förderung des Engagements für mehr Akzeptanz und Vielfalt von queeren Menschen in der Gesellschaft.

StartSocial - Hilfe für Helfer

Ende 2018 erhält QueerTausch ein Stipendium von Start Social, mit dessen Hilfe wir in den folgenden Monaten unsere Arbeitsabläufe und Tätitgkeiten umfangreich evaluieren und systematisieren können. Der Abschlussbericht gibt uns Handlungsvorschläge und weitere hilfreiche Tipps für die zukünftige Arbeit mit an die Hand.

Im Januar 2018 startet QueerTausch die Social-Media-Kampagne #youresafewithme. Ziel ist es, Netzwerk von Ansprechpersonen innerhalb der globale AFS-Organisationen öffentlich zu machen. Menschen in Deutschland, Brasilien, Island, den USA, Italien, Österreich und vielen weiteren AFS-Ländern beteiligen sich. Fotos sind bei Instagram und Facebook zu finden.

In Voluntaris – Zeitschrift für Freiwilligendienste und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement erscheint der Artikel „Denn auch das Lieben lernt sich: Die AFS Initiative Queertausch“ der QueerTausch-Mitglieder Tino und Bene. Voluntaris ist eine wissenschaftlich orientierte Informations-, Diskussions- und Dokumentationsschrift für den Bereich Freiwilligendienste. Hier ist der Artikel zu lesen.

Im Jahresbericht des internationalen AFS-Netzwerkes wird QueerTausch für den Einsatz gewürdigt, AFS-Programme diversen Gruppen zugänglich zu machen.

2018 zieht QueerTausch eine Zwischenbilanz: In der HORIZONTE berichten die QueerTausch-Mitglieder Bene und Shuggi über die Meilensteine, die QueerTausch innerhalb von AFS Interkulturelle Begegnungen e.V. erreicht hat, aber auch, wie QueerTausch die Arbeit über die Grenzen Deutschlands und der eigenen Organisation hinaus expandiert hat.

2013 unternimmt QueerTausch-Mitglied Andrea im Familienurlaub eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Mit Justus Eisfeld spricht sie in New York über queree Menschen bei AFS. Justus war in den 90er Jahren ehrenamtlich bei AFS aktiv. Heute ist er Trans*-Aktivist, arbeitet bei Hivos in New York und war Mitbegründer von GATE – Global Action for Trans Equality.

2013 erscheint erstmalig ein Artikel über QueerTausch im Newsletter zu interkultureller Bildung von AFS Intercultural Programms, dem weltweiten Netzwerk aller AFS-Organisationen. Für QueerTausch war dies wichtig, um auch international zu sensibilisieren

2012 war das Schwerpunktthema der HORIZONTE das Gastfamilienprogramm. Seit über 60 Jahren kommen Jugendliche aus aller Welt nach Deutschland und verbringen ihre Zeit hier in Gastfamilien. Die Familienstruktur in Deutschland hat sich in dieser Zeit sehr verändert. Andrea und Shuggi sind seit 2007 mehrfach begeisterte Gasteltern gewesen und berichten von ihren Erfahrungen.

Auf seiner Delegiertenversammlung 2011 beschließt unser Trägerverein AFS Interkulturelle Begegnungen e.V. die Ergänzung der deutschen Version der AFS-Grundsatzerklärung um den Punkt der sexuellen Identität.

2010 erscheint ein erster Artikel über QueerTausch in der Vereinszeitschrift HORIZONTE von AFS Interkulturelle Begegnungen e.V. Er erklärt, wer wir sind und was wir machen.